The error message “Network drive is not accessible” will only occur when you are logged out of your computer, and an automatic back-up schedule will try to create a back-up from a network drive. This is due to the way Windows operates.
Even if you are logged out of your computer (but the computer is still powered on), some processes will continue to run on your computer – including the Nucleus Online Backup software. Because no one is currently logged in to your computer at that time, windows will start this software using adefault windows-account: LocalSystem. This account has limited privileges and is not allowed to connect to a network drive (for security reasons).
To make sure the back-up of the network drive is still completed, we need to add a Pre Back-up Command. This is a command that will be executed before the actual backup is taken. In this command we tell the LocalSystem-account to connect to the network drive, using a different username and password.
Open the Nucleus Online Backup software, by double clicking the icon in the system-tray, or by going to “Start” > “All Programs” > “Nucleus Online Backup”. After loggin in using your username and password, you will see an overview of all the back-up sets that were created. Select the back-up set that creates the back-up from your network drive, and go to “Command Line Tool” in the left side menu.
On the right side you will see the input for a “Pre-backup Command” and for a “Post-backup Command“. The “Pre-backup Command” is executed before the actual back-up is taken (ie: creating the network drive). A “Post-backup Command” is executed as soon as the Online Backup is finished (ie: removing temporary files).
Connecting to the network drive
Through the command net use you can map a network drive to your local computer, in Windows, for easy access. This is the same way that the pre-backup command will be written, to automatically map the network drive before creating the back-up.
The standard command is issued as follows:
net use \\Computer\Folder
Through that command, the network drive is located (which consists of a computer called “Computer”, and a directory called “Folder”), and it will be added to your Windows Explorer (accessible through the “My Computer”-screen). Executing this command however, will map the network drive using your current windows account. If the backup-set is then executed while you are logged off, the default windows account will be used, and access will be prohibited. The command can then be expanded, by specifying which user and password need to be used to attempt to make this connection.
net use \\Computer\Folder [PASS] /user:[USERNAME]
In the command above, some things need to be altered. Replace [PASS] by the password you use to connect to your current windows account. Replace [USER] by the username of the account you are currently logged in to. Note; if you are on a windows domain, you need to use the correct syntax for [USER], namely: “domain\user”.
Add the Pre-backup Command
Now all that is left is to add the command, so it is executed before the backup actually starts. In the “Pre-backup command” you can click on “Add”. A new window will open, as follows:
Here you can enter a descriptive name for this command in the field “Name” (ie: “Create network drive”), followed by the command itself, which can be entered in the field “Command“. The working directory can remain empty for this.
After you have confirmed by pressing “OK“, this command will be added to your back-up set. Every time the back-up set is started, this command will be executed first – giving you access to the network drive, and making sure the backup can complete.
This command needs to be added to every back-up set that uses a shared network drive.